如何修正你在宾夕法尼亚州警局记录中的犯罪身份盗窃信息

Authored By: Community Legal Services of Philadelphia

如何修正你在宾夕法尼亚州警局记录中的犯罪身份盗窃信息

 

什么是“身份盗窃犯罪?”

当一个人被捕时说出另一人的姓名、出生日期和/或社会安全号码,那么

就发生了“犯罪身份盗窃”。姓名和其他信息被通过欺诈手段告知

执法部门的人(“身份盗窃受害者”)将背负着

被捕者(“身份窃贼”)的所有犯罪记录、定罪记录和法院传票。

例如,假设 Sam Swindler 已经有过入室盗窃和人身攻击的犯罪记录,

他在驾驶一辆偷来的车时被捕。Swindler 告诉警察他的名字是 Ira Innocent,他实际上是 Swindler 的兄弟,没有犯罪记录。窃贼还把无辜者的出生日期告诉了警方。警方、地区检察官或法院最终得知,骗子用了无辜者的名字作为化名。但清白者的名字和出生日期仍记录在案。当雇主对一个无辜者进行背景调查时,Swindler 有入室行窃、袭击他人,现在还有偷车的前科,州警察局会把这些记录作为无辜者的犯罪记录。
 

州警察局会为身份盗窃受害者提供正确记录吗?

某些情况下他们会的。州警察局有一个计算机程序,在答复有关犯罪身份盗窃受害者的就业或其他背景调查要求时,它将筛选出犯罪身份窃贼的犯罪记录。换句话说,如果受害者已经完成了下面描述的程序,那么将为受害者提供正确的记录。

在下列情况下,州警察局不会纠正当事人的记录。

  • 此人本人已在宾夕法尼亚州被捕和/或被定罪
  • 身份盗窃由两个或两个以上人员实施。
  • 此人的社会安全号码被用于身份盗窃。
  • “巧合案”,指的是两个人的名字和出生日期相同且都符合法律规定。这通常仅出现在很常见的名字中。

 

如果我是宾夕法尼亚州的一名身份盗窃受害者,我该怎么做才能让州警察局修复我的犯罪记录呢?

首先,要确定你是身份盗窃犯罪的受害者。你知道你的州警局记录的

显示结果吗?如果不知道,你可以在州警察局的网站上订购一份,价格为20.00美元。

https://epatch.state.pa.us/NewRecordCheckAction.do?你必须拿到一份错误的州警察记录,才能去纠正记录。

其次,如果有人举报你有犯罪行为,而你没有因此被捕,你需要去州警察办事处采集指纹,这样你的指纹就可以与身份窃贼被捕时采集的指纹比对。如果指纹不一致,你就会收到一封州警察局的信件,确认你是身份盗窃的受害者。

你需要通过哈里斯堡州警局总部获得预约许可。请拨打 888-783-7972,按选项 2。他们会给你的客户提供一份文件,从而预约在他们当地办的事处进行指纹识别。

在费城,录指纹的地点位于 2201 Belmont Avenue。贝尔蒙特办事处的电话号码是 (215)560-6200。州内其他办事处的地址可在州警局网站上查询:https://www.psp.pa.gov/troop%20directory/Pages/Station-Map.aspx。

当你需要录指纹时,带上你的错误州警察记录和你本人正确的身份证明,比如你的驾照或出生证。
 

如果我通过指纹对比证明犯罪记录不是我的,我该怎么办?

记录不正确的每个人将在指纹鉴定后收到州警察局的一封确认信。你在指纹比对之后你的州警察记录也应被修复,除非你属于他们不会修复记录的四种类型之一。那些记录被更正的人,当雇主对他们进行州警察局背景调查时,他们不需要做任何特别的事情。

如果州警察局没有纠正你的记录,你只能在回复州警察局背景调查过程中得到正确记录,前提是你向雇主提供一份州警察信件的复印件,并且雇主按照信上的说明去做。

如果你不确定在你录入指纹之后州警察局是否发布你的正确记录,你应该在指纹识别之后再订购一份你的记录,查看你的记录是否得到更改。

对于所有身份盗窃的受害者,即使州警察局针对就业和其他背景调查之目的修正了你的记录,他们也不会针对刑事司法体系之目的修正你的记录。换句话说,执法部门仍然会看到错误信息。例如,如果你被警察拦下,且针对另一个人发出法院传票但使用了你的名字,你仍可能会被拘捕。出于这一原因,你应该把州警察局出具的那封表明你是身份盗窃受害者的信件一直带在身边。

如果您在身份盗窃犯罪方面有任何问题无法通过这些说明解决,请致电 215-981-3700 联系费城的 Community Legal Services, Inc.。

 

Community Legal Services, Inc. 起草(2011年6月18日更新)

 

Last Review and Update: Oct 06, 2022
Back to top

How to Fix Criminal Identity Theft On Your Pennsylvania State Police Record


What is “criminal identity theft?”

“Criminal identity theft” begins when a person who is arrested gives the name, date of birth, and/or Social Security number of another person. The person whose name and other information was fraudulently given to law enforcement (the “criminal identity theft victim”) then is saddled with the criminal record of all of the arrests, convictions and bench warrants that belong to the person who was arrested (“the identity thief”).

For example, let’s say that Sam Swindler, who already has a criminal record of burglary and assault, is arrested while driving a stolen car. Swindler tells the police officer that his name is Ira Innocent, who actually is Swindler’s brother and who has no criminal record. Swindler also gives Innocent’s date of birth to the police. The police, the district attorney or the court eventually learns that Swindler gave Innocent’s name as an alias. But Innocent’s name and date of birth remain in the records. When an employer does a background check on Innocent, Swindler’s record of burglary, assault, and now car theft, is given by the State Police as Innocent’s criminal record.

Will the State Police provide a correct record for a criminal identity theft victim?

In some cases, they will. The State Police has a computer program that will screen out the criminal record of the criminal identity thief when it responds to an employment or other background check request on the criminal identity theft victim. In other words, the correct record will be provided for the victim, if the victim has gone through the procedures described below.

The State Police will not correct the person’s record in the following cases.

  • The person himself has been arrested and/or convicted in Pennsylvania.
  • Identity theft was committed against the person by two or more other people.
  • The person’s Social Security number was used in the identity theft.
  • “Coincidence cases,” where two people legitimately share the same name and date of birth. This usually only happens for very common names.

If I am a criminal identity theft victim in Pennsylvania, what can I do to try to get the State Police to provide the correct criminal record for me?

First, be sure that you are a criminal identity theft victim. Do you know what your State Police record shows? If not, you can order a copy on the State Police’s website, for $22.00. https://epatch.state.pa.us/Home.jsp. You must have a copy of your incorrect State Police record to get a corrected record.

Second, if criminal offenses are reported for you and you were not arrested for them, you will need to go to a State Police barracks for fingerprinting, so that your fingerprints can be compared to the fingerprints taken at the time of arrest. If your fingerprints differ, you will then get a State Police letter confirming that you are an identity theft victim.

You need to get authorized for an appointment through the State Police’s Harrisburg headquarters. Call 888-783-7972 and press Option 2. They will provide you with a piece of paper that allows the scheduling of an appointment for fingerprinting at the local barracks.

In Philadelphia, go for fingerprinting to the barracks located at 2201 Belmont Avenue. The telephone number of the Belmont Barracks is (215) 452-5216. Barracks locations elsewhere in the state are available on the State Police’s website: https://www.psp.pa.gov/contact/Pages/Station-Directory.aspx.

When going for fingerprinting, take your incorrect State Police record and positive identification for yourself, such as your drivers’ license or birth certificate.

What happens if I prove through my fingerprints that the criminal record is not mine?

Everyone whose record is incorrect will get a confirming letter from the State Police after the fingerprinting. Your State Police record also should be fixed as a result of the fingerprinting, unless you are in one of the four categories where they will not fix the record. The people whose records are corrected will not have to do anything special when an employer does a State Police check on them.

If the State Police does not correct your record, you will only get the correct record in response to a State Police background check if you give a copy of the State Police letter to the employer and the employer follows the instructions on the letter.

If you are not sure whether or not the State Police is issuing a correct record on you after your fingerprinting, you should order another copy of your record after the fingerprinting to see whether you get a correct version.

For all identity theft victims, even if the State Police fixes your record for employment and other background check purposes, it will not fix your record for criminal justice system purposes. In other words, law enforcement will still see the incorrect information. For instance, if you are pulled over by police, you could be detained if there is a bench warrant out for the other person but under your name. For this reason, you should keep the letter from the State Police indicating that you are a criminal identity theft victim with you at all times.

If you have any problems with criminal identity theft that you cannot fix using these instructions, please contact Community Legal Services, Inc., in Philadelphia, by calling 215-981-3700.


Prepared by Community Legal Services, Inc. (Updated 1/6/2022)

Last Review and Update: Oct 06, 2022
Back to top