PALawHelp.orgPALawHelp.org

如何向地区法院提起上诉

Authored By: MidPenn Legal Services LSC Funded
Read this in:
English
Spanish / Español
Russian / Pусский
Vietnamese / Tiếng Việt

向地区法院提起上诉

如果你在地区法官法院败诉,你有权向你所在县的当地普通诉讼法庭提起上诉。由于员工缺乏,你当地的法律服务项目可能无法为你提供代理。然而,在本手册的帮助下,你可以自行上诉。

这本手册并没有事无巨细地告诉你如何上诉。它只描述了在最简单情况下应该采取的步骤。此外,每个普通诉讼法庭都制定了仅适用于其所在县的“地方规则”。本手册不包括那些地方规定。

没有律师是很难上诉。看完这份手册后,你可能会觉得自行上诉过于复杂,一个人难以完成。在你做决定之前,你应该通读本手册。

只有在你对地区法官的裁决有合法、合理的异议时,你才应提起上诉。如果你没有正当理由提起上诉,你可能就必须支付对方的律师费。此外,普通诉讼法庭的判决可能最终会比地区法官的判决对你更为不利。由于这些或其他原因,即使你不同意地区法官的裁决,你最好还是接受它。有时你可以向对方提出建议来解决问题。你也可以要求地区法官允许你分期付款,期限最长为一年。

这本手册仅涉及你是地区法院被起诉人(被告)的案件。如果你是那个提起诉讼的人(原告),在没有律师的情况下,向普通诉讼法庭上诉可能过于复杂。本手册包括刑事案件的上诉或房东驱逐租客。它只适用于民事诉讼中涉及金钱的上诉。


重要术语和信息

对判决提出上诉的人被称为“上诉人”。另一方被称为“被上诉人”

你应该把你提交法庭的每一份文件都复印几份,并保留一份自行留存。

你务必把你在法庭存档的每份文件的副本交给或邮寄给对方。在另一方,这一过程叫做“送达”。

整洁很重要。你应该复印或打印所有文件,以确保它们便于阅读。你需要准备的一些文件可能有好几份表格;如果是这种情况,用打字机或用力按压。


提起上诉

A.时间限制

你必须在地区法官作出判决 (也称为“裁决”)之日起30天内提出上诉。地区法官通常在听证后的同一天作出判决,但在听证会后最多等待五天。如果你在听证会当天或听证会后五天内没有收到书面的判决通知,你应与地区法官办公室联系,以确保通知没有寄错地址。

30天的上诉期从判决之日起算,而不是从判决书寄给你或者你收到判决的日期起算。如果第30天是周六、周日或节假日,你可以在普通诉讼法庭受理上诉的第二天之前提起上诉。

你必须在30天的期限内提出上诉,否则地区法官的判决将成为最终决定,你将无法再次提起上诉。

为了安全起见,你应该在截止日期前几天提出上诉。
 

B.上诉通知

你需要在开始上诉程序之前填写上诉通知书表格。你可以从法庭首席书记官(普通诉讼法庭民事书记官)那里拿到这份表格。附录A所示为上诉通知。

一旦你填好了上诉通知,你必须把它提交给地区法院办公室所在的普通诉讼法庭的负责人。


C.诉讼费

普通民事诉讼法庭对于提起上诉收取费用。费用因县而异,但一般在40 - 60美元之间。首席书记官会告诉你费用是多少。你应该询问代理律师或你当地的法律服务办公室,看当地是否存在你需要遵守的IFP申请的相关规定。

如果你的收入很低,你可以请求法院免除你的诉讼费。为此,你必须提交一份贫民式的上诉["IFP"]呈请书和宣誓书”,请见本手册附件B所附。你可以将“指令”部分留空,但需要完整填写“呈请书”和“宣誓书”。

在你提出上诉的同时,向首席书记官提交IFP指令、呈请书和宣誓书。你应在几天内了解法院是否批准你的IFP申请。如果你的申请被驳回,你将不得不支付上诉费,否则你的上诉将被驳回。


D.上诉通知的送达

在你向书记官递交上诉通知书后,你必须把一份副本交给或寄给地区法官和原告。这称为上诉通知的送达”。

上诉表格一式几份。当你提交上诉时,书记官会保留一份副本,其余的都还给你。最后一份副本(金橙色)的底部写着“请将这一份送达地区法官”。你必须亲自把它送到地区法官的办公室,或者以挂号信的方式寄到那里。

倒数第二份(粉红色)的底部写着“请将这一份送达被上诉人”。你必须把它交给对方或以挂号信的方式寄出。

黄色副本(标记为“上诉人副本”)供你留存。

当你将上述资料已送达地区法院及另一方后,你必须填妥绿色副本背面(标记为“法庭档案”)的送达证明文件,并把它交回书记官。如果您使用挂号信,您必须将白色的寄件人收据附在本手册附录C中所示的送达证明上。你必须在递交上诉通知书后10天内,将送达证明文件送交书记官。


后续步骤

A.提交申诉的截止日期

如果你被地区法院起诉(被告),另一方(原告)必须在你发出或邮寄上诉通知后20天内提出申诉诉状是一份法律文件,它告诉法庭原告为何认为你拖欠资金。如果你把上诉通知的副本邮寄给原告,则送达日期就是你的邮寄日期。


B.如果对方不提出申诉

如果出现如下情况,则原告的案件将被驳回:a)在你邮寄或发出上诉通知给原告后超过20天,以及b)原告没有提出申诉。为了让案件被驳回,你必须准备一份类似附录D中所附 (败诉缺席判决诉讼文书)的表格,并将其提交给书记官。

当你把诉讼文书交给书记官时,你可能还需要提供一份败诉缺席判决通知和一个贴邮票的信封,并附上对方的地址。在你提出败诉缺席判决诉讼文书之前,你应该就这些可能要求咨询书记官。

如果对方没有提出申诉,你就得到了败诉缺席判决,那么案件就结束了。对方可能仍然有权对你提起新的诉讼,但这种情况并不经常发生。如果对方能提出未按时提起申诉的充分理由,那么对方也可以要求普通诉讼法院就败诉缺席判决“开庭”。


C.如果对方提出申诉

如果对方(原告)提出申诉,你必须在收到申诉后20天内向法院提出答辩状。你也必须交给或向对方发送一份答辩状的副本。在没有律师在场的情况下,很难起草和提交答辩状。这本手册仅告诉你必须遵循的最基本步骤。

如果对方提出申诉,而你没有提出答辩状,对方就会在没有提供任何证据的情况下得到对你不利的“缺席判决” – 结果为你欠对方所要求金额的判决。但是,在对方得到这样的缺席判决之前,他们必须向你发出通知,提醒你必须在通知发出之日起10天内提交答辩状。

原令状和答辩状

如果你决定自行提出答辩状,你应该在页面顶部写下案件的名称、法院的名称、案件标号以及“答辩状”这一词汇,如附件E中的示例所示。随后你应该写出你对申诉中每一段的回复。你的答辩状应当使用与申诉内容相同的段落编号。

如果申诉中某一段完全正确,你的回答应该是“申诉中的第____段予以承认。”如果不正确,你应该说“申诉中的第____段予以否认”,然后解释事情的真相。注意:仅仅否认申诉的一段是不够的。你必须进一步解释为什么这一段不属实。

如果申诉中的一段部分属实,你应该解释清楚你承认哪些内容,否认哪些内容,以及原因何在。

如果你不知道或不能判断一段话是真是假,你应该使用附录E7段中的语言,在你的答辩状中说明你已经调查了事实,但仍然不知道这段话是真是假。

“新情况”

在你的答辩状中可能存在其他情况,可以解释为什么你没有欠这笔钱。例如,你可能因为购买的产品不能正常运行而拒绝付款。或者你可能认为在一个事故案例中,对方至少对提出的伤害负有部分责任。

这样的事实被称为“新情况”。在你完成对申诉中所有段落的回复之后,可以采用段落形式将其写出来。给段落编号。


签名和确认

在你写出对申诉每一段的回复以及任何重要的补充事实(“新情况”)之后,你应该签名。

然后你必须在你答辩状的底部写出下面的陈述并签名:

本人了解,任何虚假陈述将使我受到《犯罪法》第18页第4904条 (有关向当局作出未经宣誓虚假陈述)的惩罚。依据我所掌握的知识、信息和我本人的信念,我在此确认,此答辩状中所作的陈述真实正确。

如你所见,你的答辩状必须真实。明知答辩状不真实而提交答辩状是犯罪行为。

如果有两个人对地区法院的判决提出上诉,他们都必须签署这份声明。


提出并送达答辩状

你必须将你的答辩状提交给书记官,并将一份副本寄给另一方(原告)。请务必要给自己留一份。


召开听证会

如果对方(原告)提出申诉,而你提出答辩状,案件的下一步通常是仲裁听证会。听证会就像审判,只不过有三名律师担任法官。与该案件无关的律师由法院指定。他们听取证据并决定谁对谁错。由于在地区法官法庭没有证词或证据记录,案件将被重新审理,就好像从未在地区法官法庭举行过听证会一样。

任何一方都可以要求进行仲裁听证。在大多数情况下,如果你是被起诉的那个人,最好等对方要求听证。毕竟,对方可能会决定放弃这个案子。如果对方从未要求召开听证会,那么法院通常会在一两年后向双方发出通知后驳回案件。

如果你决定要求召开听证会,你应该提交一份仲裁诉讼文书”。你可以在大多数县的书记官办公室得到这一表格,或者你可以使用附件F所附的表格。你所在的县可能对这一表格必须包含哪些信息存在特殊规定。可能会有特别规则,要求在听证会前提交一份包含证人资料等的陈述书。请与书记官或法院行政人员确认。

你将被告知听证会的日期和时间。在听证会上,你应该确保:

(1).与这一案件有任何关联的所有文件。额外准备四份所有文件的复印件将会大有裨益,这样三位仲裁员和另一方可以人手一份。

(2).对你想证明的案件中情况有任何了解的所有证人。如果证人不愿意来参加听证会,你可以从书记官那里拿到传票。你应该填好传票,复印两份,然后把原件交给证人。你还需要为证人提供每英里7美元(往返)的差旅费,以及每天5美元的见证费。在一份传票的背面填写信息,写明你送达的地点、时间和方式,并将这份副本提交给书记官。最后一份自行留存。

如果你在听证会中败诉,你有权向法院上诉并开庭审理。后续步骤过于复杂,在这本手册中未作解释。


谨记

本手册只提供了在最简单案件中可能适用的最基本的信息。这些信息可能并不适用于所有案件。

不同的县上诉规则也有所不同,法院或立法机关可以随时更改。为了确保你的权利受到保护,最好有一个律师代理你。如果你当地的法律服务办事处不能帮助你,你应该考虑尝试雇佣一个私人律师来处理你的上诉。


MidPenn Legal Services 在提供此类信息时可确保真实可靠。在提供此信息时,MidPenn Legal Services 并不同意或暗示它将代表使用所附信息的个人,MidPenn Legal Services 也不对信息滥用承担任何责任。信息在起草期间是准确无误的。除起草之日之外,MidPenn Legal Services 对于其中信息的整体准确性不承担任何责任。

 

Last Review and Update: Apr 20, 2021

PALawHelp.orgPALawHelp.org

How to Appeal From District Justice Court

Authored By: MidPenn Legal Services LSC Funded
Read this in:
Spanish / Español
Russian / Pусский
Vietnamese / Tiếng Việt
Chinese (Traditional) / 中文
Contents

APPEALS FROM DISTRICT JUSTICE COURT

If you have lost a case in District Judge Court, you have the right to file an appeal to the local Common Pleas Court of your county. Because of lack of staff, your local legal services program may not be able to represent you. However, you may be able to file an appeal on your own, with the help of this booklet.

This booklet does not tell you everything about how to handle an appeal. It only describes the steps that should be taken in the simplest cases. Also, each Common Pleas Court has "local rules" that apply just in its county. This booklet does not cover those local rules.

It is difficult to handle an appeal without a lawyer. After reading this booklet, you may decide that it is too complicated for you to do by yourself. Before you make that decision, you should read this entire booklet.

You should only file an appeal if you have a legitimate, reasonable disagreement with the District Judge's decision. If you file an appeal without a good reason, you could be forced to pay the fees for the other side's lawyer. Also, the decision of the Common Pleas Court could end up being worse than the one made by the District Judge. For these reasons and others, it may be best for you to accept the District Judge's ruling, even though you disagree with it. Sometimes you may be able to work out a settlement by making a proposal to the other side. You can also ask the District Judge to allow you to pay in installments, for a period of up to one year.

This booklet covers only cases where you were the person being sued (the Defendant) in District Judge court. If you were the one who brought the lawsuit (the Plaintiff), an appeal to Common Pleas Court is probably too complicated for you to handle without a lawyer. This booklet does not cover appeals in criminal cases or landlord-tenant evictions. It only covers appeals in civil lawsuits for money.


IMPORTANT TERMS & INFORMATION

The person who appeals a decision is called the "Appellant." The other side is called the "Appellee."

You should always make several copies of every paper you file with the court, and keep one copy for your own records.

You must always give or mail a copy of every paper you file with the court to the other side. This is called "serving" the paper on the other side.

Neatness counts. You should print or type all documents to make sure that they can be read easily. Some of the documents you will have to prepare may be forms that have several copies; if so, use a typewriter or press hard.


FILING THE APPEAL

A. Time limit

You must file your appeal within 30 days of the date the District Judge made the decision, which is also called a "judgment." The District Judge usually makes the decision on the same day as the hearing, but is allowed to wait up to five days after the hearing. If you do not get a written notice of the decision at the hearing or within five days after the hearing, you should contact the District Judge's office to make sure the notice has not been sent to the wrong address.

The 30-day appeal period starts from the date of the decision, not the date it was mailed to you or the date you received it. If the 30th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, you have until the next day that the Common Pleas Court is open to file your appeal.

YOU MUST FILE YOUR APPEAL WITHIN THE 30-DAY PERIOD, OR THE DISTRICT JUDGE'S DECISION WILL BECOME FINAL AND YOUR APPEAL WILL NOT BE ALLOWED.

To be on the safe side, you should file your appeal several days before the deadline.
 

B. The Notice to Appeal

You start the appeal process by filling out a Notice of Appeal form. You can get the form from the Prothonotary (the clerk of the civil part of the Common Pleas Court). Appendix A shows a Notice of Appeal.

Once you have filled out the Notice of Appeal, you must file it with the Prothonotary in the Common Pleas Court where the office of the District Justice is located.


C. Filing Fee

The Common Pleas Court charges a fee for filing an appeal. The fee varies from county to county but is generally in the $40 - $60 range. The Prothonotary's office can tell you what the fee is. You should ask the Prothonotary or your local legal services office if there are any local rules about IFP Petitions that you need to follow.

If your income is low, you can ask the court to excuse you from paying the filing fee. To do this, you must file an "In Forma Pauperis ["IFP"] Petition and Affidavit" like the one attached to this booklet as Appendix B. You will leave the "Order" blank but you need to fill out the "Petition' and "Affidavit" completely.

Give the IFP Order, Petition and Affidavit to the Prothonotary at the same time as you file your appeal. You should find out in a few days whether the Court has approved your IFP Petition. If your Petition is rejected, you will have to pay the filing fee or face having your appeal dismissed.


D. Serving the Notice of Appeal

After you have filed the Notice of Appeal with the Prothonotary, you must give or send a copy to both the District Judge and the Plaintiff. This is called "serving" the Notice of Appeal.

The Appeal form has several copies. When you file the appeal, the Prothonotary will keep one copy and give you back all the rest. The last copy (which is a golden-orange color) says "Copy to be served on District Judge" at the bottom. You must take this to the District Judge's office in person, or send it there by certified mail.

Take the second-to-last copy (which is pink) says "Copy to be served on Appellee" at the bottom. You must give this to the other side or send it by certified mail.

The yellow copy (marked "Appellant's Copy") is for you.

After you have served the District Justice and the other side, you must fill out the Proof of Service on the reverse side of the green copy (marked "Court File") and return it to the Prothonotary. If you use certified mail, you must attach the white sender's receipts to the Proof of Service which is included as Appendix C of this pamphlet. You must file the Proof of Service with the Prothonotary no more than 10 days after you have filed your Notice of Appeal.


NEXT STEPS

A. Deadline for Filing Complaint

If you were the one sued in District Judge Court (the Defendant), the other side (the Plaintiff) has to file a Complaint within 20 days from the date you gave or mailed them the Notice of Appeal. The Complaint is a legal paper that tells the Court the details about why the Plaintiff feels you owe money. If you mailed a copy of the Notice of Appeal to the Plaintiff, the date of service is the date that you mailed it.


B. If the Other Side Does Not File a Complaint

You can have the Plaintiff's case dismissed IF: a) more than 20 days have passed since you mailed or gave the Notice of Appeal to the Plaintiff, and b) the Plaintiff has not filed a Complaint. To get the case dismissed, you must prepare a form like Appendix D (Praecipe for Non Pros) and file it with the Prothonotary.

When you give the Praecipe to the Prothonotary, you may also have to provide a Notice of Judgment of Non Pros and a stamped envelope, addressed to the other side. Before you file a Praecipe for Non Pros, you should ask the Prothonotary about these possible requirements.

If the other side does not file a Complaint and you get a Judgment of Non Pros, then the case is over. The other side may still have the right to start a new case against you, but that does not usually happen. The other side may also ask the Common Pleas Court to "open" the judgment of Non Pros, if the other side can show a good reason for not filing the complaint on time.


C. If the Other Side Files a Complaint

If the other side (the Plaintiff) files a Complaint, you must file an Answer with the Court within 20 days after you get the Complaint. You must also give or send a copy of the Answer to the other side. It is very difficult to prepare and file an Answer without a lawyer. This pamphlet tells you only the most basic steps that you have to follow.

If the other side files a Complaint and you don't file an Answer, the other side can get a "default judgment" against you -- a ruling that you owe the amount of money the other side has asked for -- without presenting any evidence. However, before the other side can get such a default judgment, they must send you a notice reminding you that you must file an answer within 10 days of the date the notice is mailed.

Praecipe and Answer

If you decide to file an Answer on your own, you should write the name of the case, the name of the Court, the case number, and the word "Answer" at the top of the page, as in the example in Appendix E. Then you should write out your response to each paragraph of the Complaint. Use the same paragraph numbers for your Answer as the Complaint uses.

If a paragraph of the Complaint is completely true, your answer should say "Paragraph ____ of the Complaint is admitted." If it is not true, you should say "Paragraph ____ of the Complaint is denied" and then explain what the true facts are. NOTE: It is not enough to just deny a paragraph of the Complaint. You must give some further explanation of why the paragraph is not true.

If a paragraph if the Complaint is partly true, you should explain exactly what you are admitting and exactly what you are denying and why.

If you don't know or can't find out whether a paragraph is true or false, you should state in your Answer that you have investigated the facts but still do not know whether the paragraph is true or false, using the language in paragraph 7 of Appendix E.

"New Matter"

There may be other facts that you haven't stated in your Answer that explain why you do not owe the money claimed. For instance, you may have withheld payment for a product you bought because the product didn't work properly. Or you may believe that the other side in an accident case was at least partly at fault for the injuries claimed.

Facts such as these are called "New Matter." You should write them out in paragraph form after you finish responding to all of the paragraphs of the Complaint. Keep numbering the paragraphs.


Signing and Verification

After you have written out your response to each paragraph of the Complaint and any important additional facts ("New Matter"), you should sign your name.

Then you must write out the following statement at the bottom of your Answer and sign it:

Understanding that the making of any false statements would subject me to the penalties of the Crimes Code, 18 Pa. C.S. Sec 4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to authorities), I verify that the statement made in this Answer are true and correct, to the best of my knowledge, information and belief.

As you can see, your Answer has to be truthful. It is a crime to file an Answer that you know is not truthful.

If two people are appealing the District Justice's decision, both of them must sign this statement.


Filing and Serving the Answer

You must file your Answer with the Prothonotary and send a copy of it to the other side (the Plaintiff). Make sure you keep a copy for yourself.


GETTING A HEARING

If the other side (the Plaintiff) files a Complaint and you file an Answer, the next step in the case is usually an arbitration hearing. The hearing is like a trial, except that three lawyers act as the judge. The attorneys, who have no connection with the case, are appointed by the court. They listen to the evidence and decide who is right. Since there is no record of testimony or evidence made in the District Judge Court, the case will be heard all over again, as if there had never been a hearing in District Judge Court.

Either side may ask for an arbitration hearing. In most cases, if you are the person who has been sued, it is best to wait for the other side to ask for a hearing. After all, the other side might decide to abandon the case. If the other side never asks for a hearing, then the court usually dismisses the case after a year or two, after sending a notice to both sides.

If you decide to ask for a hearing, you should file a "Praecipe for Arbitration." You can get a form for this at the Prothonotary's office in most counties, or you can use the form attached as Appendix F. Your county may have special rules about what information this form must contain. There may be special rules that require a statement with information concerning witnesses, etc., be filed before the hearing. Check with the Prothonotary or Court Administrator.

You will be notified of the date and time of the hearing. At the hearing, you should make sure that you have:

(1). All the papers that have anything to do with the case. It is helpful to have four extra copies of all the papers, so that each of the three arbitrators and the other side can have a copy.

(2). All the witnesses who know anything about the case that you want to prove. If a witness won't agree to come to the hearing, you can get a subpoena from the Prothonotary. You should fill out the subpoena, make two copies of it, and hand the original to the witness. You also have to offer the witness 7 a mile (round trip) for travel expenses, and $5 a day as a witness fee. Fill out the back of one copy of the subpoena to show where, when and how you served it, and file this copy with the Prothonotary. The last copy is for your own records.

If you lose the arbitration hearing, you have the right to appeal to the Court and have a trial. That step is too complicated to explain in this pamphlet.


REMEMBER

This booklet only gives the most basic information that may work in the simplest cases. The information may not be appropriate in all cases.

The rules for filing an appeal are somewhat different in different counties and can be changed by the courts or the legislature at anytime. To make sure that your rights are protected, it is best to have a lawyer represent you. If your local Legal Services office cannot help you, you should consider trying to hire a private attorney to handle your appeal.

****************************

 

MidPenn Legal Services in providing information which is currently appropriate. MidPenn Legal Services, in providing this information, is in no way agreeing or implying that it will represent individuals who use the enclosed information, nor is MidPenn Legal Services responsible for misuse of the information. This information is accurate at the time of preparation. MidPenn Legal Services assumes no responsibility for the total accuracy of this information other than on the date of preparation.

Download

Last Review and Update: Apr 20, 2021